This area is to tell you all about eyecare in Somerset and is provided by Somerset Local Optical Committee.

We  aim to fill this site with any relevant information about eyecare related matters in Somerset. All patient information can be found in the patient section.

If you are a registered optical professional providing services in the Somerset area most information can be found on the secure private site and you should contact southwest@jclconsulting.co.uk for access details.

If you are a member of the public and there is something  you think you’d like to see on the site, then please don’t hesitate to contact us.


About Somerset Local Optical Committee

Somerset Local Optical Committee (LOC) is the organisation representing optometrists in Somerset. It liaises with the NHS England and the Clinical Commissioning Group on matters relating to eyecare and represents Somerset optometrists in negotiations with them. It also runs a number of study days throughout the year.

The Committee is elected every 3 years and is currently chaired by Sarah Farrant.

Chair  – Sarah Farrant

Vice Chairman – Joint  – Ben Williams & Simon Frackiewicz

Admin Secretary  – Charles Greenwood

Treasurer – to be elected

Committee Members

Paul Bradford

Nigel Burgess

Coraley Dunn

Ed Farrant

Lewes Hambrey (co-opted)

Suren Kumar

Duncan Stevens

Damien Reavey